AFCON 2021: Algeria, Seven Other Countries Eliminated (Full List)

Reading Time: < 1 minutes

No less than eight countries have been eliminated from the ongoing 2021 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) in Cameroon.

They are Algeria, Ethiopia, Zimbabwe, Ghana, Sudan, Guinea-Bissau, Sierra Leone and Mauritania.

The teams were eliminated from the 2021 AFCON following the conclusion of Group stage matches on Thursday night.

Algeria, Sierra Leone and Mauritania were the latest countries that were sent packing from the 2021 AFCON.

Djamel Belmadi’s men lost 3-1 against Ivory Coast, while Sierra Leone were defeated 1-0 against Equatorial Guinea and Mauritania lost 2-0 against Mali on Thursday.

Meanwhile, Burkina Faso, Gabon, Nigeria, Tunisia, Guinea, Gambia, Cameroon, Comoros, Senegal, Cape Verde, Morocco, Malawi, Ivory Coast, Egypt, Mali and Equatorial Guinea have all qualified for the AFCON Round of 16.

The Round of 16 fixtures will begin this weekend.

Burkina Faso will clash with Gabon on Sunday evening, while Nigeria will tackle Tunisia on Sunday night.