National Assembly commission replaces clerk, Sani-Omolori, others

Reading Time: 3 minutes

Edozie Udeojo,Abuja

…workers back NASC, deny plan to protest against sacking

The National Assembly Service Commission has appointed a new clerk in acting capacity, Olatunde Ojo, for the National Assembly, replacing Mohammed Sani-Omolori.

The appointment comes a day after the commission queried Mohammed Sani-Omolori for refusing to retire as clerk of the national assembly after 35 years in service.

Chairman of the NASC, Ahmed Amshi, made the announcement in a statement issued on Friday, titled, ‘The National Assembly Service Commission Approves the Appointment of Top Management Officers in the Service.’

The statement partly read, “Pursuant to its mandate as provided in the National Assembly Service Act 2014 (as amended), Section 6(b) which states, ‘…appoint persons to hold or act in the offices of Clerk to the National Assembly, the Deputy Clerk to the National Assembly, Clerk of the Senate, Clerk of the House of Representatives, Deputy Clerk of the Senate, Deputy Clerk of House of Representatives, secretaries to directorates, and holders of other offices that shall be created by the commission on the recommendation of the Clerk to the National Assembly.’

“The National Assembly Service Commission, at an emergency meeting held on Friday, July 17, 2020, has approved the appointments of some senior management staff for the service. All appointments are with immediate effect.”

National Assembly Service Commission has approved the Appointment of Clerks of the National Assembly.

1. Ojo Amos Olatunde – Action Clerk To the National Assembly

2. Bala Yabani Mohammed Acting Deputy Clerk to the National Assembly

3. Dauda Ibrahim El-Ladan – Acting Clerk, Senate

4. Patrick A. Giwa – to remain Clerk, House of Representatives pending in retirement in November, 2020

5. Yusuf Asir Danbatta – Acting Secretary to the National Assembly Service Commission

The NASC had on Thursday queried Sani-Omolori for insubordination. Amshi, in the query, referred to a statement issued by the former Clerk to dismiss the earlier one issued by the commission to announce his retirement from service.

Sani-Omolori, who was asked to reply to the query within 24 hours, had acknowledged its receipt and said he would respond to it “accordingly.”

Another round of crisis had begun over the retirement of the Clerk to the National Assembly, Mohammed Sani-Omolori and over 150 senior management staff members of the parliament.

Chairman of the NASC had earlier on Wednesday announced retirement of workers who are due for exit, in a statement, entitled, ‘The National Assembly Service Commission Approves the Retirement Age for the Staff of the National Assembly as 35 Years of Service or 60 Years of Age, Whichever Comes First.’

The Clerk had, however, dismissed that retirement as illegal. He had issued a statement shortly after, entitled, ‘Retirement Age for Staff of the National Assembly is 40 Years of Service or 65 Years of Age, Whichever Comes First.’

Sani-Omolori had been due for retirement since February 2020 but for a controversial amendment to the Conditions of Service of the National Assembly by the 8th Assembly, which extended their services by five years.

Meanwhile, the National Assembly/National Assembly Service Commission Chapters of the Parliamentary Staff Association of Nigeria have expressed their support for the NASC on the retirement of Sani-Omolori and others.‌

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.