EFCC Arrests Military Personnel, 26 Others for Internet Fraud

Reading Time: 2 minutes

A serving military personnel with the Nigerian Air Force, Lance Corporal Ajayi Kayode, has been arrested by operatives of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) for Internet fraud.

Kayode was arrested in the Lekki axis of the state by operatives of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission.

A statement issued by the anti-graft agency explained that Mr Kayode was apprehended by its officials in Lagos State following a tip-off from concerned members of the public about his alleged involvement in criminal activities.

It was stated that the soldier was picked up in the Lekki area of the state alongside his friends, 26 in number, believed to be involved in internet fraud commonly known as Yahoo Yahoo in Nigeria.

According to the EFCC, Items recovered from the suspects at the point of their arrest during an early morning raid at 6B, Fatai Idowu Arobike, Lekki Phase 1, Lagos, on Saturday, August 15, 2020, were diamond jewelry, exotic cars and expensive phones.

The military personnel with service number NAF18/34732, was reportedly apprehended in his military attire and the EFCC claimed that he confessed in his statement that the “big shot yahoo yahoo boys” in whose company he was arrested, were his friends and that they had been teaching him how to make money through cybercrime.

The anti-graft agency, which promised to charge the suspects to court soon, stated in the statement signed by its Media and Publicity Department that while the “boys” are members of Organised Cyber Criminal Syndicate Network, OCCSN, the ladies arrested with them confirmed the involvement of their “boyfriends” in internet fraud.

It named other suspects arrested alongside Mr Kayode as Kalu Emmanue; Hassan Sunday; Odinaka David Okem; Victor Ochiabuito; Christopher Prince; Victor Ologhu; Alex Aka; Miracle Onyekwere; Habeeb Ayomide; Olakunle Ajeigbu, Rasheed Olanrewaju and Salam Hakeem.

Others were Adeniran Nurudeen; Opeyemi Ojo Chris; Derrick Moris; Shehu Oluoti; Fuad Akinbayo; Babatunde Idowu; Uzo Igwe Nathaniel; Debowale Adedoyin; Shegun Emmanuel; Godswill Maduchem; Samson Kazeem; Oluwatobi Oluwatoba, Olaitan Ajao and Oyindamola Kareem.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.