We’re Tired Of Empty Promises, Umahi Says As He Joins APC

Reading Time: 2 minutes

The Governor of Ebonyi State, Dave Umahi, has said that the people of the state and indeed the Southeast are tired of empty promises of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

Speaking during his official defection to the All Progressives Congress, APC, on Thursday, Governor Umahi disclosed that the state is officially an APC state, noting that he is defecting to the APC alongside the people of the state.

He urged his colleagues in the Southeast to join him in the APC, saying that the region needs action and not empty promises. The governor noted that his defection to the APC is a ‘movement into blessings.’

Umahi reiterated his decision to dump the PDP for the APC was to protest against what he described as the injustice of the opposition party to the South East. The governor also denied claims that he decamped to the APC to achieve his ambition of becoming the president in 2023.

The governor said it is time the Southeast move to the party in the center in order to enjoy the dividend of democracy and to enjoy more laudable projects of the Buhari administration. He, however, urged members of the two leading political parties to unite and move the Southeast and Nigeria as a whole forward.

Umahi pointed out that the APC is built on trust, equity, and fairness, adding that he has forgiven the party for undermining his government during his time in the PDP.

Meanwhile, Deputy Governor of the state, Eric Igwe announced that he will be joining his principal in the APC, reassuring the governor of his loyalty. He noted that the state is ready to move forward by joining the party in the center.

Dignitaries at the event include Chairman, APC National Caretaker Committee and governor of Yobe State, Mai Mala Buni; former Senate President Ken Nnamani; Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami and Minister of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development, Sadiya Farouq.

Others are Jigawa State Governor, Muhammadu Badaru Abubakar; Kebbi State Governor Abubakar Bagudu and Niger State Governor, Abubakar Bello, among others.