Reps Begin Screening Of New Service Chiefs

Reading Time: < 1 minutes

The House of Representatives has announced the commencement of the screening of the newly appointed Service Chiefs.

Those for screening include Chief of Defence Staff, Major-General Lucky E.O Irabor; Chief of Army Staff Major-General Ibrahim Attahiru; Chief of Naval Staff Rear Admiral Awwal Zubairu Gambo and Chief of Air Staff, Air Vice Marshal Ishiaka Oladayo Amao.

Speaking before the screening, Chairman of Committee on Defence, Hon. Babajimi Benson, said the screening of the service chiefs will be transparent and free of bias.

The Chairman of the Ad-hoc Committee screening the Service Chiefs added that after their confirmation, the House will give the service Chief all the required support to succeed in their assignments.

He said the nation must do everything possible to get the issue of security right in memories of all those who have died in the fight against insecurity.

Benson said the screening is in accordance with provisions of Section 18 (1) of the Armed Forces Act, Cap A20 Law of the Federation of Nigeria 2004 which required that the nominees be confirmed by the National Assembly.