House Of Reps Confirms Appointment Of Service Chiefs

Reading Time: < 1 minutes

The House of Representatives under the leadership of Femi Gbajabiamila, on Tuesday, confirmed the appointment of the newly appointed Service Chiefs.

Recall that President Muhammadu Buhari on the 26th of January appointed new service chiefs after he sacked the previous ones.

The chairman of the Committee on Defence, Babajimi Benson, presented the report of the committee during plenary on Tuesday and considered it by the committee of the whole before it was adopted by the House.

According to the committee chairman, the nominees were thoroughly screened.

The newly security heads to be screened are Maj. Gen. Lucky lrabor (Chief of Defence Staff); Maj. Gen. Ibrahim Attahiru (Chief of Army Staff); Rear Admiral Awwal Gambo (Chief of Naval Staff); and Air Vice Marshal Isiaka O. Amao (Chief of Air Staff).

This is coming after the Nigerian Senate has confirmed the immediate past service chiefs as non-career ambassadors.

The Nigeria Daily reports that those confirmed are former Chief of Army Staff, Tukur Buratai; former Chief of Defence Staff, Gabriel Olonisakin; former Chief of Air Staff, Ibok Ibas; and former Chief of Naval Staff, Abubakar Sadique.