Best WAEC Students Get N200k Yearly Scholarship From Lagos Government

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Two outstanding students Abiodun Anuoluwapo Favor and Sholana Taiwo Mohammed who came out with flying colours in this year’s West African Senior School Certificate Examination (WASSCE) have been rewarded by the Lagos state government.

The students are from the same school, Vetland Senior Grammar School, Agege, Lagos State.

The Lagos State Government headed by Govenor Sanwo-Olu has made provision for the two students in the state who achieved the best results in the West African Senior School Certificate Examination (WASSCE) conducted last year to get on a scholarship of N200,000 every year.

Favor has excellent results in 8 subjects, and Taiwo has excellent results in 7 subjects.

They are now all 100-level students at the University of Lagos (Akoka), studying medicine and surgery and chemical engineering respectively.

In addition, Favor got 329 points (out of 400 points) in the JAMB UTME, Solana scored 340 points.

They will both get N200,000 every year until they graduate five or six years from UNILAG.

The State Education Commissioner, Mrs. Folasade Adefisayo, praised the beneficiaries and their teachers for their outstanding performance in a speech at the event.

She urged them to continue to pay attention and commit themselves to their academic pursuits and other legal activities during the journey.

Similarly, the state government also rewarded nine other students who won first prizes in various domestic and international academic competitions held in the past year, as well as one student from a private school.

Students include Mustapha Garuba from Abibat Mogaji Millenium High School and Ajasa Kehinde Timilehin from Jakande Estate Comprehensive Senior College, who won the star awards for the Stockholm Youth Water Games in 2020 and 2021, and Divine Ebere from Vetland Senior Grammar School, from Agege and Olajide Akorede and Samuel Seidu of Brainfield College (private school) won the first place in the national physics competition in 2020 and 2021, respectively.

Others are Oladipupo Marvelous from Agidingbi of the Government Technical College and Samuel Seidu from Bransfield College again. They won the Best Critical Thinker in the 2021 African Leadership Academy Competition and second place in the Oluwole Awokoya Chemistry Competition in 2021.