Lawan Submits Presidential Nomination Form

Reading Time: < 1 minutes

Senate President Ahmed Lawan Friday submitted his Presidential Nomination form at the All Progressives Congress (APC) headquarters, Abuja.

In what appeared like a carnival, it was led by governor Hope Uzodinma of Imo State, former chairman of the party and Yobe State governor, Mai Mala Buni and a host of senators and members of the the Federal House or Representatives and diverse party stalwarts.

The Senate President joined the race after sustained pressure from compatriots representing different Geo political divides. As a member of the National Assembly since 1999, many believe the country needs a man endowed with such experience to navigate the polity.

Remarkably, Lawan hails from Yobe State in the North-East. That part of the country is the only zone that has never produced a president since Independence in 1960.

The first president, Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe emerged from what is today referred to as South-East. President Shehu Shagari hailed from the North- West just like Presidents Musa Yar’adua and Muhammadu Buhari.

The South- West produced Dr. Olusegun Obasanjo while Dr. Goodluck Jonatjan filled the slot of the South -South.

A statement issued by the Senator Ahmed Lawan spokesperson Iyke Ekeoma said his bid has received tremendous boost from all over the country and he has set machinery in motion to oil the ambition which is hinged on revamping the economy and reshaping the security architecture.

The Senate President has also pledged to use sports not only to engage younger Nigerians, he intends to enforce it as a veritable tool of national unity.

Iyke Ekeoma
Senator Ahmed Lawan Media Office
May 13, 2022.