LASIEC: Lagos To Hold LG Election July 24

Reading Time: < 1 minutes

The Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission (LASIEC) has released the timetable for the 2021 local government area and Local Council Development Area (LCDA) elections in the state.

In the timetable signed by the Chairman of LASIEC, Justice Ayotunde Phillips (rtd), the commission fixed July 24, 2021, for the council elections in the 20 local government areas and 37 LCDAs in the state.

Phillips said in order to ensure a free and fair exercise, the electoral commission also set aside July 31, 2021, for chairmanship and councillorship seats re-run particularly were the exercises might be declared inconclusive.

The commission also approved that political parties could start their campaign on April 30, and must end all exercise on July 22, two days before the poll.

It also stated that political parties must organise their primaries between May 3 and June 2, 2021, to avoid delay in publication of approved candidates for the polls.